Welcome to my blog. I document my adventures in travel, style, and food. Hope you have a nice stay!

Jayhawk Area Council Announces 2016 Honorees of Topeka’s Top “20 Under 40”

2040LOGOFinalsmThe Jayhawk Area Council announced the 2016 Honorees for Topeka’s Top “20 Under 40” award. Celebrating its seventh anniversary, Topeka’s Top “20 Under 40” award honors members of the Topeka/Shawnee County Community for their commitment and contributions both professionally and personally.  Each spring, members of the greater Topeka community are invited to submit nominations for the “20 Under 40” award and then nominees are sent an invitation to formally apply for the honor.  After the application deadline close, a selection committee of more than 20 Topeka community leaders spend countless hours reviewing every submission. This year, the program received more than 135 nominations and nearly 100 applications.  The decision to select only 20 honorees out of such a large pool of worthy candidates each year continues to become an increasingly difficult task.

2016 honorees:

Ashley Charest, Greater Topeka Chamber of Commerce

Dustin Dick, USD 501 -Topeka West High School

Matt Dinkel, Security Benefit Life

Lacee Ebert, Barbara's Conservatory of Dance- Ballet Midwest

Trey George, Topeka Housing Authority, Inc.

Tom Hagen, Capitol Federal®

Megan Jones, Jones Advisory Group, LLC

Missy Lackey, US Bank

Jessica Lehnherr, CASA of Shawnee County

Elizabeth Lenherr, Advisors Excel

Sarah Lucero, USD 501 - Scott Dual Language School

Adrienne Olejnik, Rossville Community Library

Enedina Patch, Stormont Vail Health

Brooks Pettit, Vaerus Aviation, Inc.

Jammie Serrano, Advisors Excel

Lissa Staley, Topeka and Shawnee County Public Library

Jana Tenbrink, Stormont Vail Health

Justin Vest, Shawnee County Sheriff's Office

Andy Vogel, Young Life

John Paul Washburn, Washburn Law Office, LLC and The Washburn Mediation Company, LLC


Biographies and more information about the honorees can be found online at www.facebook.com/20Under40

“On behalf of the ‘20 Under 40’ Selection and Steering Committees and Jayhawk Area Council, thank you for the incredible response to the call for nominations for this year’s award.  We are in awe of the talent and accomplishments of our young leaders in the Topeka community,” stated Nick Xidis, Vice President of Finance for the Jayhawk Area Council Board of Directors. “We are excited to recognize our Honorees through an event that provides financial support for the more than 4,500 youth involved in Scouting in the Jayhawk Area Council.  This includes critical funds that help the Scouts of the Highland District participate in year-round programing and summer camp experiences. The Highland District serves Scouts who are the most at risk to not succeed due to economic and family situations. Through their scouting experience we aim instill the values of good conduct, respect for others, and honesty that are the foundation of tomorrow's leaders.”

The 2016 Honorees will be recognized at a banquet on Thursday, November 17th, at the Ramada Downtown Convention Center.  More information about purchasing tickets or providing sponsorship to the event is available online at http://www.jayhawkcouncil.org/20under40 or by calling 785-354-8541.




Capital City Oil provides training opportunity on PC-11

Four Foulston Siefkin Topeka Attorneys Named 2017 “Best Lawyers in America”

Four Foulston Siefkin Topeka Attorneys Named 2017 “Best Lawyers in America”