Welcome to my blog. I document my adventures in travel, style, and food. Hope you have a nice stay!

ARTSConnect announces nominees for the 2015 Arty Awards; Winner of Liz Stratton Arts Patron Award

artypartyWinners will be announced during the 5th Annual Arty Awards, to be held on July 25th at the Topeka Performing Arts Center. “It is one of the highlights of the year to be able to review brilliant accolades for so many exceptional organizations and individuals in our community. Although part of the fun is in seeing who 'wins' each award on the 25th, it is clear that we are rich with talent here in Topeka, Kansas, and it is such an honor to be able to recognize these nominees for their accomplishments," said Sarah Fizell, executive director of ARTSConnect.

WINNER of Liz Stratton Arts Patron Award: Glenn & Claire Swogger Glenn & Claire have been tireless supporters of the arts in Topeka and we could not be happier to recognize that support with this award.

Finalists in other categories are....

Community Arts Award

  • Aaron Douglas Art Fair
  • RagaZagar Community Mural Project
  • Sabatini Gallery

Performing Arts Award

  • Kyler Carpenter
  • The Boobie Trap
  • Kansas Ballet Company

Visual Arts Award

  • Michelle Leivan
  • Shelly Bedsaul
  • Staci Dawn Ogle

Literary Arts Award

  • Annette Billings
  • Jeffrey Ann Goudie
  • Doug Wallace



The 5th Annual ARTY AWARDS on July 25th will include an incredible dinner created by Chef Gonzalo Sanchez. Attendees will be seated on stage at TPAC. Awards will be presented during dinner and then the party moves downstairs for the Champagne Supernova After party featuring a lip synch contest with a cash prize for the winner.

Tickets for the 2015 Arty Awards are on sale now.

$1 million gift from Topeka benefactors to Wasburn

Westar Energy-KCC agreement maintains strong environment for transmission investment for customers