Welcome to my blog. I document my adventures in travel, style, and food. Hope you have a nice stay!

First Job Series: Dawna McCabe

First Job Series: Dawna McCabe

First job:

Checkout Clerk | Kmart in SE Topeka (now closed)

Age 16 | $3.25/hr


Manually (as there were no scanners) rang up customer merchandise and took/exchanged money for payment.

Why this job?

My mom saw a “hiring” sign in the Kmart front window and came home and asked me if I was interested. I had just got my first new “used” car and needed a way to make the payments. I hopped in my car, filled out an application and got a call immediately that I had the job.

Best Memory

This is where I met, and six years later married, my future husband, Mark. Truth be told, on days where we worked the same shift, I use to sometimes call for “price checks” for the items in his department (even though I already knew the price) just so I could see him for a moment.

Life Lesson

“Unfortunately, until now I couldn’t have thought of anything at Kmart that impacted my career path, but it was a means to an end at the time (car payment). I worked with some really great people and some not- so-great people. I believe it really taught me that you have to learn to get along with everyone and that all of our differences are a great teaching tool to what you encounter all through any career.”

Teen Advice

Listen. Always be learning. Take responsibility for everything you do (the good and the bad).

Read More First Job Series

First Job Series: Chris Martin

First Job Series: Chris Martin

First Job Series: Darin Loewen

First Job Series: Darin Loewen