Welcome to my blog. I document my adventures in travel, style, and food. Hope you have a nice stay!

Washburn Alumni Association to honor six

image001Six Washburn University alumni will be honored on Saturday, April 25 during the Washburn University Alumni Awards Banquet at the Bradbury Thompson Alumni Center. A cocktail reception begins at 6 p.m., followed by the program. Awards and honorees are:

Distinguished Service Award: Ann McIntosh Adrian, bachelor of education in 1967, Newton, Kansas: Adrian is a gifted education consultant for the Harvey County Special Education Coop and has been an educator for more than 30 years. She is a member of the Washburn University Foundation board of trustees and a former president of the alumni board of directors.

Distinguished Service Award: Gilbert E. Galle, bachelor of arts in political science in 1970, Charlotte, North Carolina: Galle retired after more than 20 years at WEDGE Capital Management, where he was a portfolio manager, general partner and managing general partner. He is a member of the Washburn University Foundation board of trustees.

Lilla Day Monroe Award: Glenda Cafer, bachelor of business administration in accounting in 1983, Topeka: Cafer is an attorney at and the owner of Cafer Pemberton. She is a member of the Washburn University board of trustees and president of the board of directors of the Washburn Athletic Fund. Cafer was named Ichabod of the Year in 2014.

Col. John Ritchie Award: Kirk D. Thompson, bachelor of science in criminal justice in 2001, Topeka: Thompson is the director of the Kansas Bureau of Investigation, where he has worked in several roles for more than 30 years. He also worked as a captain at the Topeka Police Department and has worked in law enforcement for 40 years.

Graduate of the Last Decade Award: Joshua M. Looney, bachelor of business administration in finance in 2005, Indianapolis: Looney is the associate director of NCAA Division II. He also works as a color commentator and analyst for high school and college football games. Looney played linebacker at Washburn from 2002 to 2005.

Graduate of the Last Decade Award: Hattie E. Mitchell, bachelor of business administration in accounting and finance in 2007, Topeka: Mitchell is the treasurer of the Tribal Council of the Prairie Band Potawatomi Nation. She was named to the Topeka 20 Under 40 list by the Jayhawk Area Council.

The cost of the event is $17 for members of the Alumni Association and $20 for non-members. To purchase tickets or for more information about the event, call 785.670.1641. You also can register online at givetowashburn.org/alumniawards. Visit washburn.edu/alumni-awards for more information on the honorees.

Service Crawl in NOTO Arts District

2ND ANNUAL WOMEN’S FORUM AND PANEL DISCUSSION “Carving a New American Business Landscape”